Intended Use


The Sunny Boy Storage is an AC-coupled battery inverter for parallel grid and stand-alone mode operation. The Sunny Boy Storage converts the direct current supplied by a battery into grid-compliant alternating current. The Sunny Boy Storage, together with a battery and a compatible energy meter, make up a system for increased self-consumption (Flexible Storage System) or, together with a automatic transfer switch compatible with Sunny Boy Storage, a battery-backup system (Flexible Storage System with battery-backup function).

The product must only be used as stationary equipment.

The product is suitable for indoor and outdoor use.

The product must only be operated in connection with an intrinsically safe lithium-ion battery approved by SMA Solar Technology AG. An updated list of batteries approved by SMA Solar Technology AG is available at www.SMA-Solar.com.

The battery must comply with the locally applicable standards and directives and must be intrinsically safe (see technical information "SMA Flexible Storage System - Detailed explanations of the safety concept" for detailed explanations regarding the safety concept of battery inverters by SMA Solar Technology AG).

The communication interface of the battery used must be compatible with the product. The entire battery voltage range must be completely within the permissible input voltage range of the product. The maximum permissible DC input voltage of the product must not be exceeded.

The product is not suitable for supplying life-sustaining medical devices. A power outage must not lead to personal injury.

All components must remain within their permitted operating ranges and their installation requirements at all times.

The product must only be used in countries for which it is approved or released by SMA Solar Technology AG and the grid operator.

The product may only be operated with one of the energy meters approved by SMA Solar Technology AG. The following energy meters are allowed to be used when operating this product:

  • EMETER-20 (SMA Energy Meter)

  • HM-20 (Sunny Home Manager 2.0)

The product may only be operated in battery-backup systems using an automatic transfer switching device approved by SMA Solar Technology AG. You are not allowed to build automatic transfer switching devices for operation with this product by yourself on the basis of a circuit diagram.

The following automatic transfer switching devices are allowed to be used when operating this product:

  • 10012856_V1.4 (3PH automatic transfer switching device for SMA Sunny Boy Storage) from enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • For Italy only: 10013490_V1.0 (1PH Battery Backup-Distribution for 1 x Sunny Boy Storage) from enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • For Italy only: 10013491_V1.0 (3PH automatic transfer switching device for SMA Sunny Boy Storage) from enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • For Australia only: SBS-ABU-63.1-AU-10 (Automatic Backup Unit) from SMA Solar Technology AG

Use SMA products only in accordance with the information provided in the enclosed documentation and with the locally applicable laws, regulations, standards and directives. Any other application may cause personal injury or property damage.

Alterations to the SMA products, e.g., changes or modifications, are only permitted with the express written permission of SMA Solar Technology AG. Unauthorized alterations will void guarantee and warranty claims and in most cases terminate the operating license. SMA Solar Technology AG shall not be held liable for any damage caused by such changes.

Any use of the product other than that described in the Intended Use section does not qualify as the intended use.

The enclosed documentation is an integral part of this product. Keep the documentation in a convenient, dry place for future reference and observe all instructions contained therein.

This document does not replace and is not intended to replace any local, state, provincial, federal or national laws, regulations or codes applicable to the installation, electrical safety and use of the product. SMA Solar Technology AG assumes no responsibility for the compliance or non-compliance with such laws or codes in connection with the installation of the product.

The type label must remain permanently attached to the product.

Bestimmungsgemäße Verwendung


Der Sunny Boy Storage ist ein AC-gekoppelter Batterie-Wechselrichter für den Netzparallel- und Inselnetzbetrieb. Der Sunny Boy Storage wandelt den von einer Batterie gelieferten Gleichstrom in netzfähigen Wechselstrom. Der Sunny Boy Storage ergibt zusammen mit einer Batterie und einem kompatiblen Energiezähler ein System zur Eigenverbrauchsoptimierung (Flexible Storage System) oder zusammen mit einer zum Sunny Boy Storage kompatiblen Umschalteinrichtung ein Ersatzstromsystem (Flexible Storage System mit Ersatzstromfunktion).

Das Produkt darf ausschließlich als ortsfestes Betriebsmittel eingesetzt werden.

Das Produkt ist für den Einsatz im Außenbereich und Innenbereich geeignet.

Das Produkt darf nur in Verbindung mit einer von SMA Solar Technology AG zugelassenen, eigensicheren Batterie betrieben werden. Eine aktualisierte Liste der von SMA Solar Technology AG zugelassenen Batterien finden Sie unter www.SMA-Solar.com.

Die Batterie muss den vor Ort gültigen Normen und Richtlinien entsprechen und muss eigensicher sein (Erläuterungen zum Sicherheitskonzept eines Batterie-Wechselrichter von SMA Solar Technology AG siehe Technische Information "SMA Flexible Storage System - Erläuterungen zum Sicherheitskonzept").

Die Kommunikationsschnittstelle der eingesetzten Batterie muss kompatibel zum Produkt sein. Der gesamte Batteriespannungsbereich muss vollständig innerhalb des zulässigen Eingangsspannungsbereichs des Produkts liegen. Die maximal zulässige DC-Eingangsspannung des Produkts darf nicht überschritten werden.

Das Produkt ist nicht für die Versorgung von lebenserhaltenden medizinischen Geräten geeignet. Ein Stromausfall darf zu keinem Personenschaden führen.

Der erlaubte Betriebsbereich und die Installationsanforderungen aller Komponenten müssen jederzeit eingehalten werden.

Das Produkt darf nur in Ländern eingesetzt werden, für die es zugelassen oder für die es durch SMA Solar Technology AG und den Netzbetreiber freigegeben ist.

Das Produkt darf nur mit einem von SMA Solar Technology AG freigegebenen Energiezähler betrieben werden. Folgende Energiezähler sind für den Betrieb mit diesem Produkt freigegeben:

  • EMETER-20 (SMA Energy Meter)

  • HM-20 (Sunny Home Manager 2.0)

Das Produkt darf in Ersatzstromsystemen nur mit einer von SMA Solar Technology AG freigegebenen Umschalteinrichtung betrieben werden. Die Umschalteinrichtung für den Betrieb zusammen mit diesem Produkt kann nicht auf Basis eines Schaltplans selbst hergestellt werden.

Folgende Umschalteinrichtungen sind für den Betrieb mit diesem Produkt freigegeben:

  • 10012856_V1.4 (3PH-Umschalteinrichtung für SMA Sunny Boy Storage) von enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • Nur für Italien: 10013490_V1.0 (1PH-Battery Backup-Distribution for 1 x Sunny Boy Storage) von enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • Nur für Italien: 10013491_V1.0 (3PH-Umschalteinrichtung für SMA Sunny Boy Storage) von enwitec electronic GmbH & Co.KG

  • Nur für Australien: SBS-ABU-63.1-AU-10 (Automatic Backup Unit) von SMA Solar Technology AG

Setzen Sie SMA Produkte ausschließlich nach den Angaben der beigefügten Dokumentationen und gemäß der vor Ort gültigen Gesetze, Bestimmungen, Vorschriften und Normen ein. Ein anderer Einsatz kann zu Personen- oder Sachschäden führen.

Eingriffe in SMA Produkte, z. B. Veränderungen und Umbauten, sind nur mit ausdrücklicher schriftlicher Genehmigung von SMA Solar Technology AG gestattet. Nicht autorisierte Eingriffe führen zum Wegfall der Garantie- und Gewährleistungsansprüche sowie in der Regel zum Erlöschen der Betriebserlaubnis. Die Haftung von SMA Solar Technology AG für Schäden aufgrund solcher Eingriffe ist ausgeschlossen.

Jede andere Verwendung des Produkts als in der bestimmungsgemäßen Verwendung beschrieben gilt als nicht bestimmungsgemäß.

Die beigefügten Dokumentationen sind Bestandteil des Produkts. Die Dokumentationen müssen gelesen, beachtet und jederzeit zugänglich und trocken aufbewahrt werden.

Dieses Dokument ersetzt keine regionalen, Landes-, Provinz-, bundesstaatlichen oder nationalen Gesetze sowie Vorschriften oder Normen, die für die Installation und die elektrische Sicherheit und den Einsatz des Produkts gelten. SMA Solar Technology AG übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Einhaltung bzw. Nichteinhaltung dieser Gesetze oder Bestimmungen im Zusammenhang mit der Installation des Produkts.

Das Typenschild muss dauerhaft am Produkt angebracht sein.